Resolved Customer Issues

Here at Halco, we are human! And humans are not perfect.

We don't ignore any customer who is not 100 percent satisfied with our services. Check out some resolved issues for proof!

 

Service review from William in Canandaigua, NY 14424

William's Overall Rating:

  3.5  / 5
We asked about...
William rated us...
Here's what William thought...
Our Overall Service
First Communication
Our Service Person
Our Service Person's Diagnosis
Our Service Work
The Cleanup Process

Here's what William thought...

HW heater broke in less than 2 years. You installed it. I didn't want a State heater but it was all you had. It broke in less than 2 years. Rep didn't have part, even though it's a common part. Promised next day. didn't come. What's to like? Do you read these? Doubt it.

Company's Response:

At Halco, we find pride in ensuring that we give exceptional customer service on every visit. We treat these surveys with very high regard as they can help to inform us when we fall short and when our customers are not completely satisfied.

This customer had contacted Halco because he had no hot water. When our service technician visited the customer's home, the problem was diagnosed as a bad gas valve. We called our supplier to order the part and unfortunately they were out of stock, forcing us to order from a different supplier. Because of this speed bump, we were pushed back a day and unable to get back to this customer's home the next day, as anticipated. Upon receiving this review, owner Hal, co-owner Tammy, and service department manager Brandon, all reached out to this customer within 30 minutes, unknowingly to one and other. We were able to get out the next day to replace the valve at no cost as the water heater was covered under warranty. While it may not have been as quick as we or the customer imagined, we were able to turn a frustrated customer into a happy customer who has since reached out to Halco for many other service calls.

Service review from Ruth Horseheads, NY 14845

Ruth's Overall Rating:

  4.7  / 5
We asked about...
Ruth rated us...
Here's what Ruth thought...
Our Overall Service
First Communication
This service was originally scheduled for mid-September but had to be rescheduled due to service person's family emergency. He rescheduled it but on the day of, nobody was showing up and when I called to inquire about it, it was discovered it had been scheduled for the year 2022. So it then had to be rescheduled. We had changed our schedule around due to expecting Halco on that day so it was kind of an inconvenience.
Our Service Person
Very pleasant, kind, knowledgeable, and answered my questions.
Our Service Person's Diagnosis
Our Service Work
The Cleanup Process
Company's Response:

Being recognized as the top Home Performance contractor in the nation wouldn't be possible without the hard work of our 200+ dedicated employees that are responsible for Halco's day-to-day operations.  But just like everyone else, we make mistakes that are caused simply by human error.  

Such was the case with this Horseheads, NY customer who was very understanding when our service technician had to cancel his call with her, due to a family emergency.  However, a mistake was made when the appointment was rescheduled and the technician did not arrive at the agreed upon date.  This customer had already rearranged her schedule twice for this appointment and now would have to do it again.  We recognized the inconvenience this caused her and agreed to waive her monthly maintenance plan fees for a short while to make up for it.  She was extremely satisfied with this offer and that we held ourselves accountable for the mix-up.

Service review from Gary in Port Byron, NY 13140

Gary's Overall Rating:

  4.5  / 5
We asked about...
Gary rated us...
Here's what Gary thought...
Our Overall Service
First Communication
The first salesmen did not do the audit right and didn't get back to us on what we needed. The second advisor was very good with the audit and getting back to us. We are very pleased!
Our Service Person
Our Service Person's Diagnosis
Our Service Work
The Cleanup Process

Here's what Gary thought...

Very happy with the insulation guys and with Ed, who cleaned and tuned the furnace. The water heater guys did a good job, but would've liked the water pan installed under the water heater. The pan they had was too big and they did not bring the smaller one.

Company's Response:

Halco prides itself on ensuring that we provide exemplary customer service on EVERY visit, which is why we treat these surveys with the utmost respect.  When we don't properly fulfill our customers' expectations, we do what we can to make it right!  

For instance, one of our advisors completed a home energy audit at this Port Byron, NY customer's home back in 2013, but dropped the ball, did not follow-up with him to get the work scheduled and just left the customer with negative feeling about the whole experience.  The customer was gracious enough to give us another chance, so we sent another advisor out and went above and beyond to make sure he was taken care of properly and his home was well-insulated before the winter came!

Service review from Judith in Trumansburg, NY 14886

Judith's Overall Rating:

  4  / 5
We asked about...
Judith rated us...
Here's what Judith thought...
Our Overall Service
See comment section
First Communication
Our Service Person
Very friendly guy; did a nice job. See comment section.
Our Service Person's Diagnosis
Things work pretty well, except see comment section.
Our Service Work
ditto
The Cleanup Process

Here's what Judith thought...

He replaced a bathroom faucet; works great. He stopped both toilets from running; great. BUT, the upstairs toilet now has a "dripping" sound. There is nothing dripping on the floor. He mentioned that he adjusted the tank water level, so I suspect maybe it's a little high. The toilet fills on its own now, just a bit, every hour or so. I have been sick and haven't had a chance to look at the problem or call you.

Company's Response:

We take great pride in the quality of our work. It's the primary reason the majority of our customers enlist Halco to take care of their home time and time again. And when we fall short, we don't make excuses--we make it right!

We had recently completed some plumbing work for this Trumansburg, NY customer and thought everything was fine, however we noticed on her survey that she was now hearing a dripping sound from her upstairs toilet. We immediately contacted the customer and sent a technician over to correct the problem. While it may not have been a huge issue, we are proud that we were able to turn a 'good' customer experience into a 'great' customer experience!

Service review from Ted in Cortland, NY 13045

Ted's Overall Rating:

  3.5  / 5
We asked about...
Ted rated us...
Here's what Ted thought...
Our Overall Service
First Communication
Our Office Staff
Sales Process
Our Installation Crew
Freezer was unplugged and not plugged back in I did not know about it for 2 days
The Cleanup Process
Company's Response:

This was an unfortunate incident involving a customer that we had performed a lot of work for in the fall of 2014. During the clean-up process, we failed to plug one of his stand-alone freezers back in and as a result, the customer had to throw away approximately $75 worth of food. Immediately upon hearing this, we apologized for the error and reimbursed him for the amount of food that was lost to make it right!

Service review from Barbara in Ithaca, NY 14850

Barbara's Overall Rating:

  3.5  / 5
We asked about...
Barbara rated us...
Here's what Barbara thought...
Our Overall Service
First Communication
Our Office Staff
Sales Process
Our Installation Crew
During installation did not explain how to regulate the boiler and anything about the settings.
The Cleanup Process
A large section of lawn was severely damaged in our backyard obviously by environmentally harmful liquid during the installment.

Here's what Barbara thought...

The boiler works fine so far. But the communication with the installation crew during installment was not satisfying.

What made you choose our company:
Good experience in the past maintaining our boiler, convincing salesperson.

Company's Response:

This long-time Halco customer in Ithaca, NY was very pleased with the new boiler that we put in for her, but was upset about both the damage made to her lawn and the overall lack of communication during the installation process. Halco is committed to providing our customers with top quality service on EVERY call and falling short of this is unaccepatable. After hearing what happened, we took responsibility for the situation, apologized profusely and sent a team over to repair and re-seed her grass. This was our fault, plain and simple, but we addressed the problem and learned from it to avoid similar issues in the future.

our service area

We serve the following areas

Our Locations:

Halco
865 County Road 6
Phelps, NY 14532
1-315-688-1945


Halco
1700 Trumansburg Rd
Ithaca, NY 14850
1-607-218-8448


Halco
204 Bass St
Liverpool, NY 13088
1-315-992-6300
Top